About PEC

The Physical Electronics Conference has been held on university campuses and at research labs around North America for 75 years. The University of Arkansas has been selected to host the 76th annual Physical Electronics Conference (PEC). This topical conference provides a yearly forum for the dissemination and discussion of novel and fundamental theoretical and experimental research in the physics, chemistry, biology, and engineering of surfaces and interfaces. Presentations of PhD thesis research, made by young contestants for the prestigious Nottingham prize ($1,500), are highlighted. Representative topics include electronic, chemical, magnetic, and structural properties of surfaces and interfaces; energetics, kinetics, and dynamics of physical, chemical, and biological transformations; electron correlation at surfaces and interfaces; interactions of biological materials; mechanisms of film growth, interface evolution, and reduced dimensionality; and processes of energy, electron, ion, and molecular transfer at surfaces and interfaces.


Previous PEC Hosts

1966 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1967 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1968 University of Minnesota

1969 Yale University

1970 University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee

1971 National Bureau of Standards

1972 Sandia Laboratories

1973 University of California – Berkeley

1974 Bell Laboratories

1975 Penn State University

1976 University of Wisconsin – Madison

1977 Stanford University

1978 Oak Ridge National Laboratory

1979 University of Maryland

1980 Cornell University

1981 Montana State University

1982 Georgia Institute of Technology

1983 Sandia National Laboratories

1984 Princeton University

1985 University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee

1986 University of Texas – Austin

1987 IBM Almaden Research

1988 Brookhaven National Laboratory

1989 University of Washington

1990 National Institute of Standards

1991 Rutgers University-Piscataway

1992 University of California – Irvine

1993 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

1994 University of Tennessee

1995 Arizona State University

1996 Boston University

1997 University of Oregon

1998 Pennsylvania State University

1999 University of California – Berkeley

2000 Louisiana State University

2001 Sandia National Laboratories

2002 Georgia Institute of Technology

2003 Cornell University

2004 University of California – Davis

2005 University of Wisconsion – Madison

2006 Princeton University

2007 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2008 University of California – Riverside

2009 Rutgers University-New Brunswick

2010 University of Wisconsin – Milkwaukee

2011 University at Albany

2012 University of Texas – Dallas

2013 North Carolina State University

2014 University of Wisconson – La Crosse

2015 Rutgers University-New Brunswick